miund

Pop!

In Giggle To This!, Randomness, Silly Posts on July 29, 2008 at 4:53 am

Went to an old friend’s wedding on Saturday.  It was a church wedding and it was beautiful.

The only thing that struck me was the choir’s pop-ish playlist.  If I’m not mistaken, it has Nat King Cole’s “L.O.V.E”, Andra & The Backbone’s “Sempurna”, some other ‘today tunes’ and the ultimate selection: Phantom of The Opera’s “All I Ask of You”.

I love the songs as they are weirdly appropriate to be sung inside a church by a somewhat funky choir which made it all the more enjoyable.  But I’ve always thought that “All I Ask of You” is kinda desperate, lyric wise.  Am I wrong here?  Again, it was beautiful, though.  I think selecting songs from musicals for your wedding is really smart.

Well, not just any musicals.  It would be weird to have “Keep It Gay” of “Springtime for Hitler” from The Producers in a wedding.

LOL.

  1. the choir can pull it off singing all i ask of you? I always thought phantom of the opera’s songs are very hard choice to do.

  2. ndun: amazingly they did. i also thought ‘no they won’t’ but they surprised me 😀

  3. Omigod I LOVED “Keep it Gay” from The Producers. I can’t understand why the movie wasn’t a tad bit more famous.

Leave a Reply

