miund

A Song That Gave Me Chills Because It’s Friggin’ True!

In Amazing!, Me Likey, Musically Me, My American Idol Addiction, Randomness on April 4, 2008 at 12:56 am

Okay, I’m just gonna be brief in commenting Ramiele Malubay’s exit from American Idol:

At least it’s relieving to know she won’t get nationwide protest like Jasmine Trias did.

The most memorable thing about American Idol’s result show tonight is the mistake done by I don’t know whether it’s Seacrest or the graphic people behind the scene when Seacrest announced a caller’s question which didn’t match with what’s been put on the huge screen behind him. Aha. Guess Americans do make mistakes in major shows as well. But all is forgiven because I just want to point out the opening song that was like a stab in the stomach to me. Oh yeah, Dolly Parton, I never thought I’d say this… but Nine To Five is like… MY song especially for the moment!

Just read the lyrics and I bet my fine ass that I’m not the only one who feels this way most of the time. Yeah, even you who read this blog silently because you think it’s gonna ruin your reputation if anyone finds out about you reading this pile of fabulous junk. Don’t you think I don’t know you’re there, because I do, and thank your luck because I still let you.

Tumble out of bed and stumble to the kitchen;
pour myself a cup of ambition,
and yawn, and stretch, and try to come to life.
Jump in the shower, and the blood starts pumping;
out on the street, the traffic starts jumping,
with folks like me on the job from nine to five.

Nine to five, what a way to make a living;
barely getting by,it’s all taking and no giving.
They just use your mind, and they never give you credit
it’s enough to drive you crazy, if you let it.

They let you dream just to watch them shatter;
You’re just a step on the boss man’s ladder,
But you’ve got dreams he’ll never take away.
In the same boat with a lot of your friends;
Waitin’ for the day your ship’ll come in,
And the tide’s gonna turn, and it’s all gonna roll your way.

Nine to five, for service and devotion;
you would think that I would deserve a fair promotion;
want to move ahead, but the boss won’t seem to let me.
I swear some-times, that man is out to get me.

Nine to five, they’ve got you where they want you;
There’s a better life, and you dream about it, don’t you?
It’s a rich man’s game, no matter what they call it;
And you spend your life putting money in his pocket.

Nine To Five – Dolly Parton

This is a brilliant song -well, I’ve worked more hours than just nine to five in my entire working life-, as it voices out every red-blooded employee’s lament (read: those who aren’t working for their parents’ companies) clearly, crudely but in a cheerful way. Can’t believe I’ve missed this excellent song all my life.

On behalf of every single employee on earth, I’m gonna say this out loud with joy:

Ms. Parton I LOVE YOU!

  1. My goodness, this 9-to-5 is truly on the spot! Getting so sick of this kinda job, but I’m already in the maze and can’t seem to find the way out. Never really like Dolly Parton, but this song is a real gem 😉 btw, thanks for the always enjoyable entries Miund!

  2. fuermischung: it is a real gem, isn’t it? thanks for dropping by! great to know that these entries had entertained a fellow worker 😀

  3. 9 to 5 eh ? well i guess I gonna sing it too … soon

    Poorm ramiele anyway. I can’t believe kristie’s still in the competition. Last week she sang a very patriotic song and this week’s about mother. Now, who would eliminated her after that ?

  4. mikearmand: i’ve given up on kristy lee cook. obviously the producers still think the ratings will go down if she’s out. so there she will be, with good songs selected just for her for the next um… two weeks max?

  5. C’mon… 9 to 5 is so last century… We’re into 9 to 9, aren’t we? It’s the 21st century thing… The lyrics stay valid, though, perhaps even from the Majapahit era… 🙂

  6. bleu: well dolly parton is like… 100 years old already anyway. HAHAHA! 9 to 9? are you kidding? i work from 11 (a.m) to 3 (a.m). blogging included, that is. HAHAKAHKAHKA!

Leave a Reply

