miund

Less Stressed My Ass

In Business, Daily Annoyance, Sarcasm on June 20, 2007 at 2:36 am

Despite the news of stupid students that breaks my heart, my reading spirit is somewhat high tonight and I came across this article.

So, does the phrase ‘less paid… less stressed’ apply to me?

Nope.

In the ideal world, I’d love to sip my tea while writing my next book from a terrace of a beachouse somewhere in Bora-Bora, bought by royalty money from my previous books which had turned into blockbuster movies.

But this is the real world we’re talking about.

Call me shallow, but I’d rather be rushed by a tight deadline, screaming at people until a vein shows on my forehead that I resemble a Klingon and work until the wee hours to be able to shop my heart out at the end of the month than be laid back and relaxed but unable to go anywhere and amusedly watching paint dry as a form of ‘entertainment’.  Oh believe me, I’ve been a freelancer before and I know how it feels when dry spells come.  When the checks stop coming and your scripts aren’t approved due to some blah-blah therefore ‘we don’t really need you right now but we’ll contact you soon’ thing.  Being so-called ‘poor’ sucks, even for a day or two.

Because in the end, it’s not about the shopping.  It’s about survival.  And to survive in a hellhole called ‘Jakarta’, one needs the dough.  Let’s face it, the city isn’t cheap.  You park your car somewhere, there’s a parking guy waiting for you even when he does nothing to ‘assist’ you.  He’ll demand money and you’ll have to pay or else.  You go to a gas station and you’ll hear a silent ‘cha-ching’ sound when they’re done filling your car up.  You don’t drive?  Well lucky you because I do.  Don’t get me wrong, but in the heat of the tropics and the obnoxious pollution, which would you rather choose: public transports or private cars?  I bet my fine arse it’s the latter.

And that’s just transport.  Don’t get me started on the ultra-basic need: eating.

Working in Jakarta can never be unstressful because most people still work for money.  If I live in Aspen, I’ll probably be happy just renting out skis to tourists.

But then again, it’s cool, calm and lightyears away from the hustle bustle.

Geez, what’s wrong with my head?  Should I soak it in iced water?  Seems everything I read ticks me off today and I’m nowhere near my PMS.  See, this is what happens to me when I actually read the news.

I just go cuckoo.

  1. remove those news RSS from your reader, girl
    i dont read news, because I was afraid that this would happen to me too :p

  2. anima: i don’t have any news RSS from any reader. i simply visit the sites. my freaking own stupidity, methinks. hahakahkahkakh…

  3. Completely an article which only applies to 1st world countries! I’d vote for a blockbuster rendition of “Gokil!” any time. ;p

    Thanks for visiting my blog 🙂 Next time our bf’s and you get together I’m coming along too!

  4. Teez: hi girl! yep you better come along 😀 bring mosquito repeller too. last time we had to deal with a LOT of mosquitoes. thanks for dropping by 😉 by the way, we have a similar nickname eh? some friends of mine call me Tiz 😀

Leave a Reply

