miund

Sherman Pore, A Forgotten Gem

In Heartwarming, Mushy :), My American Idol Addiction, TV Talk, Video Post on May 26, 2007 at 1:12 am


It has always been my habit to look back on everything that had passed whenever a TV show ends its season. This time, I looked back on the recently ended American Idol and I realized that I haven’t said anything about a man named Sherman Pore. Been too busy bitching about the contestants and praising Melinda Doolittle too much, I forgot about the real winner of the show.

A symbol of how true love last, Sherman participated in the AI auditions only two days after his wife for 20 years died of cancer. He filled her last days keeping her spirits up, doing anything that made her smile. You’ll hear what Sherman Pore said in the video, and this time I have to agree with Paula’s tears. I cried when I saw this L.A audition and I still cried when I found the clip in YouTube.

Sherman Pore, there might be thousands of LaKishas and Melindas. There might be millions of Jordin Sparkses and Blake Lewises too. But you are indeed the winner.

Your lady is smiling from above, Mr. Pore, and she has every reason to now. In fact, I’d be surprised if there was a single moment in her life when she frowns. The lady was lucky to have you, Sherman 🙂

I’m dedicated the song to those who still believe that true love does exist.

You Belong To Me – Patti Paige

See the pyramids along the Nile
Watch the sunrise on a tropic isle
Just remember darlin’ all the while
You belong to me

See the market place in Old Algiers
Send me photographs and souvenirs
Just remember when a dream appears
You belong to me

I’ll be so alone without you
Maybe you’ll be lonesome too, and blue

Fly the ocean in a silver plane
See the jungle when it’s wet with rain
Just remember ’til you’re home again
You belong to me…

  1. I know Sherman personally and you could not know a MORE WONDERFUL MAN.. He is incredibly sweet and humble and he has pushed doing this and his newly released CD by the strength given to him from his lady love of many years. Please notify all of your friends and family of this man, he SO deserves it and his voice is absolutely classic and needs to be heard by everyone….you will melt.
    Thanks for your blog about him, and I am not sure if I am allowed to put this here, but please go to walmart.com and look up Sherman Pore CD ….Please tell your friends and family and contacts to get this cd, you WILL NOT REGRET IT I PERSONALLY PROMISE YOU. One dollar from each sale goes to support CITY OF HOPE CANCER RESEARCH… this is what his love of so many years passed away from…cancer. It is a wonderful cause, and to receive such beautiful music at the same time…who could lose?
    Please help Sherman with telling everyone about the CD… I know a lot of his history and you would be amazed at the struggles he has gone through in his life. But his driving force right now is to sing and make others happy…that’s what his love asked him to do before she passed away…he is doing it for her.. and for everyone that has supported him, and for all people so that they may know his story, enjoy the beautiful and talented person he is, NOT for himself, but he has done this for years for others…just to put a smile on their faces… He would call women at his love’s work place and sing to them when they were sick and down. He would sing to people out in public when they looked stressed or upset. He sang to my mom when she was critically ill…. He has a heart of gold. And the voice of a legend.
    Thank you,
    Susi

  2. that was so sweet!
    how lucky must be her wife was 🙂
    it all got my eyes welled up with tears
    that’s how all husband should be

  3. Susi: thank you for a wonderful reply to my email! 🙂 please tell Sherman he’s always welcome to visit this blog!

    Dwd: yes indeed. true love is a luxury these days, no wonder we all welled up when we saw how Sherman conveys his message 🙂

Leave a Reply

