miund

To My Fellow Indonesians Everywhere

In Gloomy Me on April 18, 2007 at 11:30 pm

My heart goes to the family of Partahi Mamora, an Indonesian student of Virginia Tech University who got killed in the shooting spree on Monday April 16th 2007.  And I feel for other victims’ families too.  It must be really hard to lose a loved one.  I could not imagine how it feels for the family, as this horrible event affected me more than I thought it would.

I never (and never want to) understand the concept of a human taking another human’s life.


The world is still questioning why Cho Seung-Hui did what he did.  I don’t question the motives at all.  Cho was mentally imbalanced, that’s clear to me.  What kept lingering in my head is… well, I thought United States of America is all about strict regulations and safety.  How can a country so famous with its FBIs and CIAs let its youngsters to bring guns into a campus?

But then again, I thought of 9/11 and I was forced to understand.  Cho only had two guns.  The terrorists back then got their hands on two planes that hit the World Trade Center, one hit the Pentagon and another one crashed down.  Yeah.  I understand how a tiny Korean guy might slip the authorities’ attention.

Even the safest places on earth isn’t evil-proof.

I read this at CNN.com and although I blame none other but the obvious killer for the massacre, I agree with the last sentence.  No parent deserves this.  Not even Cho’s.

In fact, no human being should go through something as horrible as this.

Deep condolences to those who lost their loved ones, and a message to my fellow Indonesians in every part of the world:

Stay safe, my friends.  My thoughts are with you all. 

May God protect you from harm.

  1. I know we often blame the parents (that include me!), directly or indirectly, for what turns their kids into a killing machine. Though many times one’s upbringing does form his/her personality and mentality, it’s still unfair to judge parents alone — the society shall also be responsible for not providing a healthy environment for the youngsters.

  2. hey hey hey, have you heard this, non?

  3. anima: thanks to you now i know 🙂 i’ve posted the link in my sidebar.

    lenje: i read cho’s family’s statement today on cnn.com and i got teary-eyed. yes, it is unfair to judge the parents at this point. society plays a huge part too in one’s upbringing, and i think guns shouldn’t be as easily acquired to prevent these sort of happenings. i hope the US government will give this a lot of thought after what happened in V-tech.

  4. No place is safe, indeed. One’s thoughts can change the world a great deal. Cho’s is a notorious example

    That’s why I’m sending my positive vibes every where I go. Perhaps, in a minuscule way, it can balance out negative vibes. We shouldn’t judge actions in the past, we only have the future to hope for. And we still enough time to act.

    “The world is a comedy to those who think, a tragedy to those who feel.” (Horace Walpole)

    Namaste and mahalo, girlfriend.

    Jennie

Leave a Reply

