miund

Bitchin’ About Gossip Shows

In Daily Annoyance, Entertainment, TV Talk on March 14, 2007 at 2:52 pm

Am listening to Dhani Ahmad‘s comment on a gossip show on TV.

“I’m going to resolve the problems with my wife in an elegant manner.  Please do not ask anymore about this”

Are you sure you don’t want to be asked anymore, Mr. Ahmad?


Seriously.  If one does not want to be exposed, then one would not talk to the “press” about any personal business whatsoever in the first place.  What a desperate publicity stunt, I daresay.

Indonesians are known to be people who gossip.  Am (again) not generalizing, but I’m not ashamed to say that I gossip.  What defines the act of ‘gossiping’ to me are as follows:

1.  Listening intently / indifferently to the gossip
2.  Watching gossip shows
3.  Finding people to talk about the gossip
4.  Finding certain people to confirm the gossip
5.  Going to the press to confirm gossips about oneself

I do point number 1, 2, 3 and sometimes 4.  And so what?  I’m not holier than thou.  I do enjoy juicy gossips even though I often am forced to keep some of the juiciest to myself until the gossiped object decides to go to the “press”.  And when my friends are finally talking about the gossip, I’ll go: “Yeah I heard that five months ago.”  Then they’ll look at me and it’s guaranteed that they’ll dish me out.  It’s a good thing I don’t have friends in the “press”, otherwise they’d call me non stop.

As much as I love gossips, I particularly hate Indonesian gossip shows.  They’re all the same.  Whenever there’s a huge scandal, you’re sure to see it over and over again until sometimes you even memorize the celebrity’s statements.  The only different thing about these shows is the hosts.  And they’re not much of a diff anyway because all they do is stand there, trying to look pretty (applies to boys and girls) with a signature ‘foto kondangan’ pose.  The scripts are the worst.  Everybody can write, it’s for sure.  But not everybody can write for television.  It’s somehow different and people just have to deal with it, therefore should be very careful when calling themselves ‘scriptwriters’.  It’s a disgrace to the profession when you just write to fill up durations.

That is why -in case you didn’t notice- I call these people the “press” as they are NOT what real press is all about.

An example of a moronic scriptwriting heard on one “news” about celebrities’ pregnancies:

“Anak adalah anugerah Tuhan yang akan membawa bau surga dari mulutnya saat pertama kali datang ke dunia…”

in English:

“A child is God’s gift who will bring heaven’s scent from his mouth upon entering the world…”

I went like… WHAT THE FUCK?

Come on, scriptwriters.  You can do better than that.  What’s with the ‘heaven’s scent’ crap?  We know children are God’s gift to the parents and can’t we just leave it that way?  Trying to be poetic is tolerable.  But this is like too much over the top hence causing air sickness.

Geez.  It’s not even 3 p.m. and I’m already bitchin’ about.  Ok I’ll stop.  Work awaits at the studio.  However, is it real work?  Or just another bitchin’ session -the live version?

I have a strong hunch it’s gonna be the latter.  But we’ll see.

  1. are those gossips about Dhani & Maia really true? If so, I despise how he seems to be blaming his wife for everything, trying to be the “bigger man” and shit. I have since banned his band songs from my I-Pod. bwahahahaha.

  2. methinks it’s just a publicity stunt. face it, dhani’s getting old and this is the way to stay afloat.

    you can have all the money in the world. but popularity isn’t something you can buy at the supermarket. hence the pathetic attempts to regain it.

Leave a Reply

