miund

I (Heart) American Idol

In My American Idol Addiction on January 22, 2007 at 12:43 am

American Idol LogoI can’t help to NOT put my two cents here about the recently-aired American Idol 2007. When I watched the first audition in Minneapolis, I thought Simon Cowell had gone moderately softer as he adressed almost every girl with ‘sweetheart’ and ‘darling’. The ‘Dawg’ Randy Jackson became sharper-tongued in his comments. As for Paula Abdul… nah, I don’t want to say anything about this woman. I have my own reasons, that if written here, would just be so very utterly rude inappropriate.

The next audition in Seattle caught my eyes, as apparently the pre-casting judges put a lot of deformed-faced contestants. I thought, well America is quite different than Indonesia in terms of bluntness. To my surprise, what was written here confirmed my feelings. America’s still blunt. But even they agreed that the judges had gotten too far this time. But whose fault is it anyway? The contestants? The judges? Or the rating-crazed producers?

It is not easy creating a television show that would hit the ratings up high. And it’s harder to maintain the show’s freshness and quirks. In my opinion, the American Idol producers had become so desperate, that they just had to involve retarded people to be the laughing stock of the world. It’s such a pathetic move, so to speak.

I’ve worked for Indonesian Idols before and my responsibility was to select the contestants. Oh come on now, people, you don’t seriously think that the main judges themselves selected twenty four contestants out of thousands, do you? I ok-ed bad voices and weird clothing ensemble for entertainment’s sake. But I never put a retarded person through. Why? Because as funny as they might be to ‘normal people’, they don’t deserve to be laughed at. I know they deserve the same chance as ‘normal people’ to perform and try their best in the competition. But I had a heart. The person might not even care about being laughed at, but their loved ones will. And hurting people isn’t what I’m meant to do.

I understand where Simon Cowell and Randy Jackson are coming from. The industry is tough. And there are a hell lot of great talents waiting out there to be discovered. Wasting their time on some tone deaf singer wannabes are just annoying, and these people who think they sound like angels HAVE to get some wake-up calls. Hence the seemingly rude comments such as…

“You can’t sing.”
“What do I have to do to improve?”
“Leave”

… is indeed necessary.

But to make fun of those who have facial features of a deformed monkey? Tsk… Tsk… Mr. Cowell, I’m very disturbed.

I know that my reaction here is a teeny tiny celebratory item for the folks at 19 Entertainment and Fremantlemedia North America, for it shows that they have managed to create controversy -which in this sick fabulous business is usually referred as “Good TV”-, but please, people… have a heart. It’s fine to send wake-up calls, rude ones if you may. As for tormenting the mentally challenged and physically deformed, I think you guys should know better.

All in all, I just have to say this: If having a heart won’t make a good producer out of me, then I’ll gladly take the title off and live my life in peace…

… as the girl who watches too much TV.

  1. hmmm, i have never liked such show 🙂

  2. I accidentally bumped into this particular audition too, and feeling pretty much disturbed by having them categorizing some participants based on physical appearance. And I guess Jewel did try good to be polite and she gave the most decent comments for those who got rude marks from the rest.
    Although, to be honest, I never do like the show.

  3. Before, I’d just wait until the they chose the finalists, so I’d only see the so-called best performances (not necessarily, though). This year, I happened to see the Minnesota audition, fell in love with one or two contestants, and was horrified to see the rest. I did think that, somehow, there are more morons competing (forgive me for using such, er, inappropriate term), compared to last year.

    At one point I do agree that the judges have been awfully rude. On the other hand, these people had seen the selection process in the previous years, so they should’ve known what awaits them – at least their families and friends should’ve cautioned them. Once they decide to go on with it, they must – hypothetically – be ready for whatever they’re gonna deal with. Including, yes, harsh judges – and public humiliation.

    Show business, particularly in the US, IS a mean business. And that meanness lasts longer than 10 minutes of infamy.

  4. Never like such show.

    I’ve watched II several times and never like how the show treated those finalists; they’re just like animals in circus that are used to entertain national audience. It’s ironic…they do it voluntarily, for the sake of.. i dunno.. being famous mebbe?

    but that’s what entertainment and capitalisme all about,right?

  5. Lenje:
    I realize that the showbusiness everywhere is a mean business. But still, it doesn’t have to stoop as low as degrading the already-unfortunate. If you’ve seen the Seattle audition, you’d cringe as well hearing Simon’s comments on the so-called ‘monkey-looking’ contestant. How ironic it is that the TV media is used for campaigns for humanity while at the same time mocking (ever so deliberately) the mentally retarded. As someone who used to work for the Indonesian version, I just wanted to point out the major flaw on this year’s American version. What was meant to be ‘good television’ was abused and I’m not totally blaming the judges. The producers are in it as well and they masterminded the whole storytelling. They had the control, but they chose to abuse it.

    Ella:
    The show is about searching for talents and by no means it’s meant to treat people as circus animals. It’s supposed to be a good show, however, as I said previously sometimes the producers lose control of the show. Contestants aren’t to be blamed. Everybody who got on the show have one thing in common: to be famous. In order to be known, they were willing to do just almost anything -well if we want something real bad, we’d do anything possible to get it anyway, right? The point of this whole writing is not me against the show. It’s about reminding the people behind the show to have a little compassion towards the (real) retards. Making fun of someone with an obvious down syndrome is never a good thing, especially with the world watching. That’s all.

Leave a Reply

